	New York State	Federal Government
Executive	Governor (4 year term, no term limit) Lieutenant Governor (nominated, on same ticket as Governor)	President (4 year term, 2 term limit) Vice-President (nominated, on same ticket as President)
Legislative Bodies	Assembly (2 year term, no term limits) 150 Assembly Members Senate (2 year term, no term limits) 63 Senators Current Speaker of Assembly: Current Majority Leader in Senate:	Congress (2 year term, no term limits) 535 Members of Congress Senate (6 year term, no term limits) 100 Senators Current Speaker of House: Current Majority Leader in Senate:
Judicial	Court of Appeals is Highest Appellate Court is Middle Supreme Court is Lowest	Supreme Court is Highest

Make Up of New York State Government in Comparison to United States Federal Government

Authority of Dept. of Justice	Attorney General (Elected by People, 4 year term) Currently:	Attorney General (Appointed by President) Currently:
<u>Fiscal</u> <u>Authority</u>	<u>Comptroller (Elected by people, 4 year term)</u> <u>Currently:</u>	<u>Secretary of</u> <u>United States Department of the Treasury</u> <u>(Appointed by President)</u> <u>Currently:</u>

Created by Jennifer Wilson, League of Women Voters